Hiking in Tenerife

in
330
Hiking in Tenerife

Spectacular rock formations with black sand: Volcanic hikes

With its 3718 m height, Teide is not only the highest mountain in Spain, but also one of the most active volcanoes in the world. Leaving the Orotava coastal valley and wine-growing area, you ascend through the typical Canarian pine forest into a quirky, high-altitude lunar landscape. From the summit plateau you have a fantastic view of other Canary Islands.

Hikes through the cave surrounding the Teide lava landscape of Caldera de las Cañadas or to the more western Montañas Negras are highly recommended.

The Parque Rural Anaga

Far from the tourism centres of Puerto de la Cruz, Costa Adeje or Playas de las Americas, it is mainly the mysterious area around the Parque Rural Anaga in northeastern Tenerife that captivates visitors.

Here you can discover the Laurisilva, part of the ancient (some researchers claim, even over 40 million years old) Canarian laurel forest with its typical giant ferns, as you explore the mountain landscape on the hiking trails.

Hiking trails through the Teno Mountains

In the northwestern part of the island, the Teno Mountains extend up to 1200 metres high. The tour, which runs through the gorge from Masca to the Atlantic coast, is particularly impressive. For smaller but beautiful round trips, the Teno Alto plateau is recommended.

Daring and especially dizzy-free hikers offer great views of rugged rock walls and deep canyons on the Riscosteig (rocky path).

54321
(2 votes. Average 5 of 5)

Wandern auf Teneriffa

in
497
Wandern auf Teneriffa

Spektakuläre Felsformationen mit schwarzem Sand: Vulkanwanderungen

Mit seinen 3718 m Höhe ist der Teide nicht nur der höchste Berg Spaniens sondern auch einer der aktivsten Vulkane der Welt. Wenn man das Küstental und Weinbaugebietes Orotava verlässt, steigt man durch den typisch kanarischen Kiefernwald in eine skurrile, hochgelegene Mondlandschaft auf. Vom Gipfelplateau aus hat man dann einen fantastischen Ausblick auf andere Kanarische Inseln.

Wanderungen durch die den Teide umgebende Lavalandschaft Caldera de las Cañadas oder auf die weiter westlich gelegenen Montañas Negras sind unbedingt zu empfehlen.

Der Parque Rural Anaga

Weit weg von den Tourismuszentren Puerto de la Cruz, Costa Adeje oder Playas de las Americas ist es vor allem die geheimnisvolle Gegend um den Parque Rural Anaga im Nordosten Teneriffas, die die Besucher in ihren Bann zieht.

Hier kann man den Laurisilva, einen Teil des uralten (manche Forscher behaupten, sogar über 40 Millionen Jahre alten) kanarischen Lorbeerwaldes mit seinen typischen Riesenfarnen entdecken,  wenn man auf den Wanderwegen durch die Berglandschaft erkundet.

Wanderwege durch das Tenogebirge

Im nordwestlichen Teil der Insel erstreckt sich das Tenogebirge auf bis zu 1200 m Höhe. Besonders eindrucksvoll ist die Tour, welche durch die Schlucht von Masca bis an die Atlantikküste führt. Für kleinere, jedoch wunderschöne Rundtouren empfiehlt sich die Hochebene Teno Alto.

Wagemutigereren und vor allem schwindelfreien Wanderern bieten sich auf dem Riscosteig (Felsensteig) großartige Ausblicke auf schroffe Felswände und in tiefe Schluchten.

54321
(2 votes. Average 5 of 5)